Brakes (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I need help/recommendations if possible.

i have an ‘88 Fj62.

took my Bertha to my mechanic and he is recommending I replace front calipers, rotors, pads and brake lines. the truck wobbles side to side a bit under braking.

question 1: should I rebuild the calipers?
Q2: Should I buy replacement calipers?
Q3: Should I convert to different calipers that use oem rotors? I have a stock master cylinder and 15” wheels.

mall help is appreciated.

The answer to all of the above is, depends on how much you wanna spend. Since your even entertaining the idea of something other than OEM I’m guess your not a die hard has to be stock type person.

Rebuilding caliper is usually the cheapest but runs the highest risk of not working in my opinion. Always a slippery slope with rebuilds, some people do it just fine, others have nothing but issues and end up wasting money on the rebuild kit and end up buying new calipers anyways.

As far as upgrades go, ‘95 4Runner calipers work and improve stopping. The real upgrade is tundra brake mod, but that’ll impact your wallet a bit more

Maybe it is different than my hj60 but it sounds like regular maintenance?
And a mechanic has no time to search for one seal, he (she,it) just orders the kit and is done, same for the caliper cylinders.
The rebuild calipers seem nice (also price) but I have no clue how they are compared to OEM (lasting in time)

I think it is about the soft rubber brake lines, also regular maintenance, if it is also about the hard brake lines that is a bit more work.

Why not try to do this yourself? it is also birf time and oh, no a lot of ''while in there'' clouds and thunder.

1617967604043.png

I did not separate them, just new rubbers and the old cylinders were very damaged but still reused them and no problem in years.

1617967685244.png

Last edited: