Brakes (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Just replaced the master cylinder and bled the air out of the system but the peddel seems a little soft. The rear brakes lock up first , thats the norm I'm sure and there a little touchy. I just bought the rig with the bad brakes so I don't know what it was like before tha change out. The shop told me that on this year the peddel was soft. Agree or Disagree?
Stroker

I have a 12/75 (so technically a '76), and the brake pedal's not mush at all.

Look into 4 wheel discs and a proportioning valve. I can stop on a dime now, even far better than my roommate's brand new F-150. The parts cost less than fixing the drums, too.

No brake pedal should be soft, ever. If so, something is not right.

ADJUST ALL WHELL CYLINDERS!!!!

Good luck!

-Steve

Being a newbie here I'm going to ask a risky ? I know I can adjust the rear brakes but you can't do much with the front can you being there disk brakes?

What is the condition of the front system?

How are the pads? How are the rotors? Are both sides of the calipers working properly(they are four piston units, pads should be evenly worn)
Have you tried bleeding the system again, especially the front? The front can be difficult to get all the air out of some times...