brakes will not work (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi, I need some advice please on how to sort my brakes. I have a 1979 BJ40 with drum brakes all round. Recently I overhauled all the brake cylinders some of which were seized. I put on new rubbers etc. It is my first time working on the brakes. When it came to bleeding the system I started at the wheel cylinder farthest from the master cylinder and worked my way to the cylinder closest to the master cylinder. Everything seemed fine, pressing the brake before I started the engine the brakes felt firm. But as soon as I started the engine the brakes were all spongy. They would only firm up slightly with repeated pressing of the brake. Also the brake warning light came on and the buzzer sounded. I bled the system again using a large quantity of brake fluid but the same thing happened. The tandem master cylinder does not have a bleed nipple. Should I try and bleed the brakes with the engine running? Needless to say I have not tried to drive the cruiser in this condition. Help would be much appreciated.

Have you adjusted the brake shoes? I would say that they are not properly adjusted, giving you this situation. I would adjust them porperly, and see how things work.

When you re-bled the brakes was there any sign of air actually being in the system? If not this may not be an air issue. If there is air in the system... did one of the reservoirs on the master get too empty and allow air in? Are the shoes all properly adjusted? Those may be the easiest places to start.

jm

if air got in the master cylinder when everything was pulled apart, you may need to bench bleed it

I always bleed with the cruiser on, seems to make it easier with the booster helping out. Maybe this isn't correct, its just what I do.