1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Brake job this weekend, any special tools I need?

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by Skillet, Aug 25, 2006.

  1. Skillet

    Skillet Skillet

    Messages:
    4,371
    Media:
    13
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Location:
    КАГІҒОЯИІА
    Got new DBA rotors, 4x4 pads, stainless brake lines, and synthetic fluid to install this weekend.
    Do I need any special tools, besides a vacum bleeder which I already have?
    Compression tool perhaps?
    I needed one of those for my Audi but this beast's brakes are new to me.
    Also, anyone know the amount of replacement fluid it will take and should I pull some fluid directly out of the reservoir first so I do not have to pull as much through the line?
    ONE more thing, should I do anything before replacing the body to axle stainless lines? Will it pray everywhere when I take them off.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Doc

    Doc

    Messages:
    5,917
    Media:
    33
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    362
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    I used a c-clamp to push the pistons back. No compression tool there. Fluid volumes are in the back of the owners manual or FSM.

    Other than that... :shrug: .

    Have fun, and remember to grease your rotors after installation!
     
  3. Skillet

    Skillet Skillet

    Messages:
    4,371
    Media:
    13
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Location:
    КАГІҒОЯИІА
    Damn, always forget about that FSM...:D

    Moly or Lithium on the rotors...:flipoff2:
     
  4. tucker74

    tucker74 Moderator

    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    331
    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    You'll need a 54mm socket, snap ring pliers and a fish scale .... you gotta pull the front hub assy to install the new rotors.

    Tucker
     
  5. Skillet

    Skillet Skillet

    Messages:
    4,371
    Media:
    13
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Location:
    КАГІҒОЯИІА
    Wow, that is good to know. Guess I am glad I ordered that big-ass socket from mr. cdan. The others I have.

    Why the fish scale?
     
  6. tucker74

    tucker74 Moderator

    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    331
    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    To set the pre-load on the bearings ;) Do a search -

    Tucker
     
  7. LX_TREME

    LX_TREME

    Messages:
    2,645
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    If you are going to use Toy brake fluid will takes about 2 or 3 bottles, or in my case I only need one bottle JDM B4 brake fluid.1 bottle JDM BF4 brake fluid more than the amount of 3 bottle Toy brake fluid. Also you mentioned Synthetic fluid, what type synthetic fluid?
    P.S: Hey don't use DBA rotors it just Dumb A_z for Off-Road :hillbilly:
    Ganlock Brake Fluid.jpg
     
  8. Skillet

    Skillet Skillet

    Messages:
    4,371
    Media:
    13
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Location:
    КАГІҒОЯИІА
    I think the fluid is Valvoline.

    I bought it for my Audi which I no longer have.

    I have one big bottle and one small one, guess I need more?

    Don't have my FSM on me.

    Too late on the DBA rotors. They are going on. I have read good things about them and the guys at Slee said that they are good rotors, works for me.
     
  9. Grench

    Grench SILVER Star

    Messages:
    2,801
    Likes Received:
    95
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Don't forget a brass drift or hammer to loosen up the conical washers.
     
  10. Skillet

    Skillet Skillet

    Messages:
    4,371
    Media:
    13
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Location:
    КАГІҒОЯИІА
    okay, what is the difference between torque and pre-load?

    brass hammer?? %*$@

    Back to the friggin store.
     
  11. Grench

    Grench SILVER Star

    Messages:
    2,801
    Likes Received:
    95
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Did you read the Chilton's, Haynes, FSM or forrum walk throughs on how to do this? I think they all detail how to do it with a brass drift or hammer. You could probably do it with a dead blow plastic mallet too. All you need it for is to rattle a plate a bit without deforming the plate. Tap, don't bang. It doesn't take much. Once one washer loosens, they all come out quickly.

    Sears here doesn't carry a brass hammer. HF does.

    You might be able to do it without one... You might also be making an expensive call to cdan for a replacement plate. What is this plate with the conical washers in it called again?
     
  12. cruiserman

    cruiserman

    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    SFH with a brass drift, or in a pinch leave the nut at the end of each stud and tap on it. Be careful though.
     
  13. NorCalDoug

    NorCalDoug problems solved daily...

    Messages:
    6,289
    Likes Received:
    106
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    uhhhh...duh...Northern CA
    just to be sure...you're doing front and rear rotors?

    if it was just rear rotors, you wouldn't need anything special...

    front rotors require the brass drift or brass hammer, 54mm socket, etc.
    you'll be basically pulling the front hub off to get to the rotors.

    Let me know if you need front rotor FSM pages...I'll see what I can pull up for you...
     
  14. tucker74

    tucker74 Moderator

    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    331
    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I've had good luck tapping the side of the flange with a regular hammer as well -

    Tucker
     
  15. Ivan80

    Ivan80

    Messages:
    341
    Media:
    4
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    Omaha, NE.
    That's they way I've always done mine as well. Just tap the Drive Flange squarely on the side and you'll be ok.
     
data-matched-content-rows-num="2,1" data-matched-content-columns-num="1,4" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">