Bleed back/cold start dramas (12ht) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi guys, I feel a bit silly asking for help as I'm an apprentice mechanic and should be able to work this out on my own but I really can't. I rebuilt the 12ht for my truck (fj62). Everything's new but the turbo. Now the drama I have is it seems to be bleeding back I assume, I can pump the primer on the injector pump (which is usually firm enough i would think) and it fires up pretty much straight away. If I don't, it'll crank for a really really long time and will need throttle to stay running.

I have checked injection timing 3 times, replaced all copper washers, replaced the rubber hose from the fuel filter to the pump and checked overall lines and clamps. Being it was petrol now a diesel I'm unsure if perhaps there is a drama there causing it to bleed back? I didn't encounter these dramas with this pump PRIOR to reconditioning. Any other suggestions? Is it possible for the pump to be the blame? Thanks guys.

The primer pump on the 2h/12ht are notorious for leaking air into the fuel system. Heaps of people swap them out for a Bosch one, I just can't find the part number right now. Sounds like your issue is air in the fuel line, so check that all hoses are new, clamped, replace the primer pump with a Bosch one and you should be good.

I come from diesel background.
There is likely a small air leak between primer and chassis rail flexible hose. Could be a filter, housing or as mentioned hose not clamped. Annoying issues like this wont always leak fuel.
If you have no joy.
Try three things..
1/ fit a clear tube just before lift pump on injection pump and see if air drags back.
2/ carefully blow back to fuel tank then pressurize the fuel tank slightly.
3/ set up a small fuel canister with very clean fuel and bleed system.
If all the above fails, fit a temporary electric lift pump.