Blatant Running Thread

Cube Dweller

Just got back from a 10K training run so I thought I'd lighten the subjects...who are the runners on the board? I used to HATE running until about 3 years ago when a buddy convinced me to do a half marathon relay. I started training for it but had to bail due to some knee pain. But in 2003 I hit the road again and ran a 5K, 7 miler, half marathon and finished with the California International Marathon. Once I could run 5 miles without being in agony I found I actually enjoyed the experience.

2004 was an off year due to our beautiful baby being born. So for 2005 I plan to run the CIM again. I plan to do a light day of 6 miles, a 5 mile speed day and a 9-12 mile long day through August, when I'll start following the Boston Marathon Assc. training plan for rookies.

Post up if you're a runner or you think you hate running.

I ran solely to train for soccer and mountain bike racing. Then went running with some girl first month of college... she KILLED me. It was the first time I got my butt kicked by a GIRL. I was out running with a friend of mine a month ago trying to get him into it and trying to explain that after the first 3 miles you get into a rythem and it doesn't seem to wear you out so much. He mulled that one over for a bit and then said, out of breath "damn dude, you don't mean after the first three miles of the season, you're talkin about one run!" It was classic. I'm hoping to do a marathon in the next year or so.

Chris

Brentbba

Former Golfer
SILVER Star

Used to run alot. Best way I found to control both weight and stress. Actually worked up to a half marathon years and years...... ago. Now just 2-3 miles 3 times per week to get started again.

patride71

i love to run, but have not been running as much as i used to....used to run 5K about 4 times a week a few years back...usually about a 8 minute mile pace.