bj74radio

Discussion in '70-Series Tech' started by mreekster, Oct 30, 2005.

  1. mreekster

    mreekster

    Messages:
    175
    Media:
    3
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Location:
    vancouver bc
    some one gave me a nice factory stereo form a bj74. My old stereo has a label on it that says 24v, the newer one says 12v. I have an 88 model that is 24v and I know that the other model is a 24v model as well, but it maybe newer so could it be stepped down before the stereo and if so can I adapt mine so that I can use the factory stereo with its harness. please no aftermarket ideas as I want to keep it simple. thank you . ps has anyone tried to use a fm phase band shifter for jdm radios?
     
  2. beanz2

    beanz2 Moderator

    Messages:
    2,126
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    I have used a phase converter and JDM radios still don't work as well as in Japan and Europe the standard band spacing is 0.9mHZ and in the US it is 1.0mHz. Some stations are fine but others are hit or miss.

    Dave
     
  3. mreekster

    mreekster

    Messages:
    175
    Media:
    3
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Location:
    vancouver bc
    what brand did you use?
     
  4. beanz2

    beanz2 Moderator

    Messages:
    2,126
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    It doesn't say, just a silver box with a 12/24Mhz switch :)

    Dave
     
  5. bigbrowndog

    bigbrowndog

    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    N.Q. australia
    The oz versionToyota [Fujitsu] usually has a sticker on the underside showing the tuning range,AM 9k: 522-1629 khz and FM 100k : 87.5- 108.0. Some aftermarket sets show this as a FM 200kHz step87.9 - 107.9MHz or 50kHz step 87.5 - 108MHz. Am 10kHz step 530 -1700KHz or 9Khz step 531 - 1611khz. Also shown as US-European tuning.It is possible to change the tuning step in some by pressing a button or combination of buttons.Can't the radio be run from one of the 12 volt batteries with a fusibale link as amps are done?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.