1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best Place for Aftermarket Gauges

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by Gauge, Jan 21, 2004.

  1. Gauge

    Gauge

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    I would like to add 3 aftermarket gauges to my 97 LC. Where have you guys mounted yours (assuming you have any)? My pillars have handles in the middle so I think I can only mount one gauge above it and another below it. :cheers:
     
  2. ppc

    ppc M Go Blue

    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    462
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Remove the grab handle. I use one of the screw holes to secure the pods. I think I'm using a triple pod from a 93/94 Accura but it needs modifications. I've heard of others taking three single pods specifically made for the Land Cruiser and doing some surgery to overlay them on each other.

    You cold also mount them in the center console near the shifter if you can do some fabrication. The new style dash uses an upsloping console which would work good but there isn't much cleareance behind. You would need to build it out a bit. You could also go to Dakota Digital and put in some digital gauges that might not be as deep.
     
  3. turbocruiser

    turbocruiser SILVER Star

    Messages:
    3,562
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
  4. Scamper

    Scamper

    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere in NJ
  5. Gauge

    Gauge

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    Tom,

    Thanks for the link. Did you remove your handle on the pillar or did you just mount under it?
     
  6. 97 FZJ80

    97 FZJ80

    Messages:
    1,539
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Location:
    Plano Texas
  7. Scamper

    Scamper

    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere in NJ
    I only put a single gauge on the pillar, so I didn't need to delete the hand-grab. I think I could have gotten two in there without removing the handle, but surely not three.

    IIRC, Bill (Photoman, whom we have not heard from lately) had a multi-gauge setup. He may have even posted pics on here some time ago.

    Tom
     
  8. drexx

    drexx

    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    26Jan2004 (UTC +8)

    I have purchased a few Autometer gauges from http://www.martelbrothers.com , because I've discovered that they have the lowest prices on the 'Net, and that they deliver well, and I have no problems with the products (that's why I haven't tested their after-sales support yet).
     
  9. semlin

    semlin discouraged user

    Messages:
    5,222
    Media:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    866
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    north of 49
    Tom, I only see three guage a-pillar inserts at that link. Did you cut the insert or do they sell a single gauge insert? Also, if you have grey trim, what is the match like to the interior?
     
data-matched-content-rows-num="2,1" data-matched-content-columns-num="1,4" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">