Best harmonic balancer puller holder design (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

The problem with your version is that you are placing all the shear force into the rubber of the harmonic balancer and will most likely trash it. Definitely don't do that method when retorquing to 304.

^^^^

Agree and would add:

The 'break away' torque required to remove the bolt (that may have been on there 20+ years) is even greater than the torque to install. Not a good idea to capture the HB by its circumference for either procedure. The risk of compromising the rubber bond could be a very real concern.

The use of an impact wrench (to remove) 'might' help mitigate some of the risk, but its just better to hold the HB as was intended to be done (use the bolt holes provided).

Is your friend a fabricator/welder by trade?
No, but he welds a lot ( since childhood 4yrs old). He’s 56 now. He’s really good with mechanical junk. He’s got a crane and a cement mixer from 1930 that he still uses with orig engines that crank right up :) The cement mixer will literally kill you if you don’t know how to run it. :)

Just an update on our tool. The one's that we've been making for the last few months are 1/2" thick now. Stripping the 3/8" ones was rare, I haven't heard about anyone stripping the1/2" ones. We've been using the same 3/8" one at the shop weekly for about two years.

No, but he welds a lot ( since childhood 4yrs old). He’s 56 now. He’s really good with mechanical junk. He’s got a crane and a cement mixer from 1930 that he still uses with orig engines that crank right up :) The cement mixer will literally kill you if you don’t know how to run it. :)
He patented his own valve train about 20 yrs ago, but got killed by the big 3 and never sold it.

Last edited: