Axle housing question

  • Thread starter cgauss
  • Start date
  • Watchers 1
C

cgauss

Joined
Aug 14, 2013
Messages
9
Location
Weston, WI
I (am hoping) on starting on my FJ40 project finally. I will basically be frankensteining 3 fjs into 1. 71, 74 and 77 is what I have to work with.

I will be using the axles from the 77. Thinking eventually I may do a SOA. I was thinking of using one of the axles from the earlier models for that.

The question I have is how interchangeable are the housings?
 
Fast Eddy

Fast Eddy

Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
14,024
Location
NorCal
You should do your SOA right from the start Dr. Frankenstein...
 
C

cgauss

Joined
Aug 14, 2013
Messages
9
Location
Weston, WI
I may try doing a SOA right away, all depends on the cash flow. I am planning on running a set of 33s that I already have for a while. I did buy a 4 inch lift a few back so I may run that first.

Id like to eventually run a set of 35, 36 or 38s... but that is down the road.
 
Fast Eddy

Fast Eddy

Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
14,024
Location
NorCal
In the long run it's always going to cost more to do it more times. Sell what you don't need, including the 33s and get some 36s.
 
fjfodee

fjfodee

At a Medium Pace
SILVER Star
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
1,437
Location
Lower Left AR.
Axle housings and empty 3rd's are interchangeable with minor mods...as posted above.

Put it together and drive it. Modify as time and $ come. Just my .02
 
C

cgauss

Joined
Aug 14, 2013
Messages
9
Location
Weston, WI
Thanks for the input! I am picking up the 71 and 74 in two weeks. Then things can finally begin!
 

Similar threads

K
  • Question
Replies
5
Views
231
imyahucklbrry
imyahucklbrry
KeepCruzin
Replies
33
Views
896
KeepCruzin
germaneighter
Replies
4
Views
212
germaneighter
germaneighter

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom