AT won’t go into reverse when cold (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Transmission just started not going into reverse often when cold, once warmed up, shifts and drives perfectly. Thought it might be low on fluid, but no dipstick to check, so not sure if that’s the issue. Has 275,000 miles on the clock, and thinking fluid and filter change is in the order, but some say not to change it fearing the old fluid is what’s keeping it from slipping.

Thoughts? At 275k, is it about time for a new transmission?…… or?

Have the issue with the left bank air valve stuck as well, but investing in the Hewit fix for that ($600), but hoping a new OEM rebuilt AT can wait till next spring or??

Not going into reverse I think means you’re looking at a transmission rebuild. I’m not an expert though. You can try to swap the fluid, I really don’t think it’ll hurt at this point. If you do a swap you need to follow the procedure to do all 12-13 quarts, not just drain and fill the pan

If you have no record of fluid change, for sure do that using @linuxgod suggestion for complete change. Maybe the new WS fluid will help the cold R shift.

Sounds like a stickey shift solenoid. I can't imagine how bad that fluid is if it has never been changed. If it's not slipping yet you can probably save it and get some more miles out of it. Do like Linuxgod says. I'm about to do mine and it only has 100K, PO never had it done.

While you're on the subject. What do you think when you should change the oil in the manual transmission?

My Tacoma owner's manual says every 30K to change the fluid in the manual transmission. I can tell by the way it shifts when it is time to change too. I know nothing about the manual in a 200 as we don't get those in the USA. :(

If you cold start then let it run for a minute or two before trying, will reverse work?