Anyone SCUBA? Need gear advice...

Scuba newbie here... Taking open-water cert. and gearing up. Just the basics... I'd have to give up at least two hobbies to afford to go all out for dive gear!

Well I bought a black Tilos Panoramic mask that I like, but still need fins, etc. Stuck between Mares Avanti X3 and Oceanic Vector. Anyone have experience with either? Budget booties (Henderson, Deep Sea)? Any other "must haves"?

Thanks,
Brian

dieseldog

She idles just fine . . .
GOLD Star

Don't go apes*** right away with the equipment. Get your cert. and go diving. Rent what you must and check out the gear that fellow divers are using. See what fits your needs and the more you dive, you'll definitely develop preferences. You will want your own booties, mask and fins. You can get a light and depending on the type of diving you'll do, you'll need a smaller one or a primary type. Depending on the water temps, you may not even need any special attire. Lots of folks dive with swim trunks and t-shirts in warmer water. My first rig was a Aqualung/U.S. Divers Titan regulator and Octopus. For gauges, just standard analog pressure gauge and depth gauge w/added compass. It was a rental rig that was sold to me used. All refurb., and works great. After I dove a bit, I decided I wanted some better gear and moved up.

My current rig consists of a Zeagle Ranger BCD w/integrated weights; Sherwood Maximus regulator and AirSource inflator/alternate (thus eliminating a separate octo line); 3.0cf SpareAir tank mounted on the BCD; Suunto instruments w/Vyper dive computer. For suit, I've got a Henderson 2.0mil shorty and a Henderson GoldCore 5.0mil full suit (hood and gloves if needed). My fins are soon to be replaced but I started out cheap and made due. I use a clear Tilos mask.

Happy Diving!

hoser

SILVER Star

As for booties and fins, get whichever fits you best as a system--the most comfortable.