Anti-Wrap Traction Bar (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I’m getting ready to build a new rear end and I’m thinking about adding an anti-wrap traction bar similar to the Ruff Stuff kit. http://www.ruffstuffspecialties.com/catalog/AWKIT.html

I know a few of you guys already have them on your 55’s and I would like to know if there is any down side that out ways the benefits?

Thanks.

my first idea is that it gives mor weight to unsuspended parts. Is it important to usual pigs speed?
second. Do you reallyneed it? I assume it is needed when you have an engine with much more torque than OEM or more reduction gear.

my first idea is that it gives mor weight to unsuspended parts. Is it important to usual pigs speed?
second. Do you reallyneed it? I assume it is needed when you have an engine with much more torque than OEM or more reduction gear.

I have no real world experience with traction bars on a 4X4 and you are correct I’m not sure it’s needed.

My 4BT diesel will have around 450+ foot pounds of toque and the transfer case has under drive low range gears so I’m thinking the axel wrap is a possibility and I would rather error on the safe side if the Anti-Wrap/Traction Bar has no ill effects.

Dug some pictures of mine up:

You can see how the brackets and "wraparound" section cover about 2/3s of the axle. If I recall right, the brackets are 1/4" plate. Yes, I've also got sway bars :) The tubing is all 1.5" DOM .250" wall:eek:

What size heim joint is at the end not shown?

Thanks for the photos!

Have been trying to find a post of Don's about this for two days, and can't.

Pretty much hits it on all points, here, though, the only semi-tech I can regurgitate is it's similar to links, in that separation should be 25% of tire size and the flatter the better.

image.jpg