Builds Another OM617 in an FJ40 thread (3 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Morning all-I had started a thread on this build in the general tech thread, but now that I'm getting a better idea of the challenges, most of them involve the OM617. I should mention that I have no experience with this motor, and inherited the 1/2 finished project as a pile of unlabeled, disorganized boxes. This is going to be tough as I am not a great mechanic, have minimal tools and limited budget... and am clearly in over my head!

If any of the moderators want to merge the threads here, I'd appreciate it!

1966 FJ40 Project Pinchfist aka Atoyot, a backwards diesel build.

IMG_0995[2].JPG

On the upside, the guy I bought the motor, 5-speed Toyota etc. did a good job sourcing parts. He rebuilt the turbo, installed a new water pump, all new gaskets on the motor etc.

IMG_1013[1].JPG

But, as others who have done this swap have reported, one of the most difficult challenges is getting enough clearance between the front differential and the ginormous Mercedes Benz oilpan. After lowering the motor into the approximate location, it was clear that this was a bigger issue than I had hoped for:

IMG_1015[1].JPG

My hope was to keep the 1966 (mid 65 build date) stock in appearance, including ride
height. It should be noted that there is no weight on the front springs, so they will compress when loaded.

Thinking about "plan B".....

Rainy. Cold and nasty out. So I dragged the motor inside and started (trying) to attach the Toyota 5-speed transmission. After watching a few Youtube videos, I think I have the new clutch assembly figured out. But it is also clear that I am missing a lot of parts. :frown:

IMG_1020[1].JPG

Wow.. that sump is a real problem.. even with a little bit of clearance there'll be no room for the diff housing to flex upwards on that side.. how have other people solved this?