amp compatibility

Discussion in '100-Series Cruisers' started by Publius, Jul 12, 2018.

  1. Publius

    Publius

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Location:
    Mississippi
    About to slide a pioneer double din in the Cruiser. Is there no way the factory amp is going to work? I have seen most do a bypass because of (ohm differences)?
     
  2. Spike555

    Spike555

    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Location:
    Wyoming MI
    What year truck?
     
  3. ogsuv

    ogsuv SILVER Star

    Messages:
    500
    Media:
    52
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    158
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Location:
    Madison,WI
    crutchfield.com is always a good resource. They show this metra part will work with the factory amp. I bypassed mine and added an aftermarket subwoofer, but it depends on what you prefer. you can always bypass later if you don't like how it sounds.

    upload_2018-7-12_21-29-51.png
     
  4. Publius

    Publius

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Location:
    Mississippi
    1999 year. thank you for the help.
     
  5. gatormark91

    gatormark91

    Messages:
    871
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    441
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Factory amp is 20-yeasr-old worn-out crap. Stick a small $99 amp under the passenger seat, hook it up with RCAs, use the Metra adapter to hook it into the factory harness right there under the seat, and be done with it, and done right. It will sound a whole world better.
     
    fooldall1 likes this.
  6. Biga27110

    Biga27110

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    87
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Location:
    OC, CA
    Is there an install guide for this? I want to do this.
     
  7. gatormark91

    gatormark91

    Messages:
    871
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    441
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    TLC FAQ
     
  8. DaKruiser

    DaKruiser

    Messages:
    48
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Paragon Indiana
    If your 99ā€™ is like my 01ā€™ I would try the factory amp. I just installed a Pioneer AVH2300-NEX using the Metra 70-8113 amp integration wire harness. Iā€™m pleasantly surprised by the results.
     
  9. Placemotorsports

    Placemotorsports

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    WV/VA
    I direct wired the head unit in mine to the speakers by taking out the old amp and using the pre-existing wires under the passenger seat. Sound is very clean this way, no buzz or feedback noise by using the old factory amp. Plus the newer head units tend to have more power anyway and more means of adjusting the sound.
     
    bwell likes this.
  10. DaKruiser

    DaKruiser

    Messages:
    48
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Paragon Indiana
    I must have gotten lucky, I have no noise or feedback. Just nice clean and clear sound.

    The Metra amp integration harness uses the rca outputs of your new head unit. So all your audio controls work as they should.

    For under $20 and how easy it is to install, it was an easy decision for me.
     
  11. PabloCruise

    PabloCruise SILVER Star

    Messages:
    17,273
    Likes Received:
    2,025
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Land Cruiser? Or LX?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.