Amateur questions (basic 40 wheelin')

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am gearing towards my first wheeling trip in a few weeks. I am relatively new to the 40 lifestyle and I am wondering a few things randomly. Feel free to take a shot at any of these.

1. Any tips for crawling up rocks on an incline with a manual trans and a stock carburetor. If I stall and im pointed up, what do I do if she wont start? I am new to manual chokes n' carbs n' such.

2. I am rolling topless, my jump seats are folded up but I am wondering how to best stow/pack the small cargo area with needed supplies/camping. I am imagining bouncing around and my stuff flopping out and about.And I have two small dogs:eek:

3. The other concern. The :princess: hates bouncling around in the passenger seat with no doors, nothing really to hold on to, and a lap belt/bench seat. Seat belt fastened tight enough so she doesn't bounce out, but so tight it yanks and digs when we are jostled around on the rougher terrain. I need some easy solutions here that don't require major mods at this time. I guess putting doors back on will help, boo...

Thats about it for the moment. I am hoping you guys can enlighten me to your resolutions to these little nuances of 40 wheeling. :hmm::cheers:

385901810.jpg

One last easy one? I don't think my roll cage is for a 72', what year is this from?

On an incline if you stall, hold the brakes, depress the clutch, select reverse, release the clutch, release hold on brakes, hit the key to start and wind it backwards on the starter lightly riding the brakes till it fires, then proceed as usual..

I use ratchet straps to hold my gear in..

I travel doorless.. I have a cage with retractable belts connected to the B pillar.. Your cage looks like you could do that, and I'd suggest its some sort of aftermarked addition, never seen anything like that from the factory..

1 Don't stall