1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Am I missing something?

Discussion in '60-Series Wagons' started by BigSur, Mar 17, 2004.

1. BigSur

BigSur

OK, i have done everything by the book. I recently got a new Clutch master and after i installed it i bleed my system. She seemed to be in good shape. About 10 days after the installation i noticed the clutch started to get sloppy when i pressed it in. Now if i give a couple of pumps before it engages then i get pressure. So it would seem like i have some trapped air in there. So i go and bleed again. She is good for the first minute after the bleed then she goes back to sloppy. I can press the cltuch pedal in a good couple of inches before she engages. ANd before you ask about the slave...i have a new one of those as well and i got that a good month before i got my master. Am i missing something while i am bleeding it? I don't think i am doing it wrong at all. Put a piece of hose at the end of the bleed valve and i can see the bubbles go through the tube and i can hear the clutch being sucked in.

WHAT AM I DOING WRONG? Do i need to leave the filler cap on or off while i bleed? I am at a lost and not only is it frustrating me...but pissing off the wife cause i am making her pump my clutch when she would rather be inside watching TV.

Please help.

2. DieselROCKS

DieselROCKS

I'm not sure if this will mean anything where you are right now, but I always fill those things up with fluid first just to get all the air bubbles out

3. Romer

Romer fatherofdaughterofromer Moderator