All LS1/5.3/6.0 conversions or NV4500/4L80E please enter! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm a newbie on this board but not new to wrenching. Done 2 Buick Grand National (Turbo V6) conversions into '87 Mazda RX-7's and an LS1 into my current '93 RX-7 daily driver.

I'm looking to install a '99 LS1 in my '84 FJ60 with 4L80E mainly for more power and better freeway fuel economy plus to have the ability to tow a car/boat trailer. I have seen a few Cruisers on here with LSx based conversions and either 4L60E/4L80E/NV4500 transmissions.

A few questions for you guys:
Did you make or buy your engine/trans mounts? Can you post some pics?

Any transmission or firewall mods needed to fit the 4L80E?

Did you use the Advanced Adapters (AA) adapter to mate it to the stock FJ60 transfer case? Is this sufficient and are the stock driveshafts/diffs up to the task?

Will the stock radiator work? Did you use an aftermarket eFan or not?

How did you run the fuel system feed/return lines? Stock fuel tank?

What type of mileage are you getting on the highway? What gears/tires do you have?

Any pitfalls hurdles I should look out for?

Sorry for all the questions... just planning out my future conversion.

Thanks,

Mark

-i run the vette motor and the nv4500.
-A/A motor mounts
-A/A t-case adapter
-no firewall mods, but moved the hole in the hump for the shifters
-stock rad worked in my 40 with a black magic electric fan, but this time i went with the summit aluminum radiator (universal, about $175)
-stock fuel tank used stock return, but new feed due to higher pressure, but if you can couple stock feed line with pressure line than it is good
-driveshafts are solid, but had to lengthen/shorten. no big deal
-gettin about 16-18 mpg double what my tired 2F was gettin
-4.88 gears arb's and 35's

good luck :beer:

That sounds like a very cool setup. What year Vette motor? Any mods to it?