Air Conditioning Issues on LX470 2002 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi Crew,

I bought a LX470 2002 used and the A/C isn't working. I bought it sight unseen but had a mobile PPI done. At the time of inspection, the mechanic said the AC was working but honestly I have trouble believing that it would have crapped out during transport. Part of me wonder if the mechanic did a s*** job or knew the seller. That's besides the point now.

So I've been trying to figure out and isolate the cause of why the A/C doesn't work. I'm a very inexperienced self-taught mechanic, but I'm enjoying the process of learning as I figure this out. However, I could use your help to figure out what to do next.

When I try to turn the A/C on, the A/C light on the Nav screen flashes and it says check the air conditioner. It blows the normal air without A/C.

Here's what I've tried to fix it:
1) When I pressed the error codes, nothing flashes. Occasionally, I'll see 21 but that's because it's dark and the solar sensor isn't reading.
2) I've ran techstream diagnostics and flicked A/C sig on and off. Nothing happens.
3) I've hardwire around the magnetic clutch relay fuse, and that doesn't trigger anything.
4) I've checked one of the pressures with the A/C tank and pressure gauge that costs $25. It shows that it's filled, so doesn't look like it's low on Freeon.

Here's what I think is next, but please let me know what you think..
1) I was going to use a multimeter to see if I can check if the air compressor is shot. I have no idea how to do that, but I've read it around. If anyone has a great video of it, please share.
2) Bypass AC compressor - I'm not sure what that means or what it does. But I've been reading that is something else to do on the checklist.

Let me know if folks have any good advice on what else I can try. Thanks in advance!

Take it to a trusted A/C shop.