Air Bag warning lights will not reset

Joined
Dec 13, 2012
Messages
707
Location
Meridian Idaho
Ladies I did not mess with airbag, just disconnected and connected back and now the warning lights are on I can't reset according to this instruction
a) Tc to ground for 1 second, remove
b) AB to ground for 1 second, remove
c) Tc to ground for 1 second, remove
d) AB to ground for 1 second, remove
e) Tc to ground for several seconds (5 according to the FSM)

 

JaketheSSnake

SILVER Star
Joined
Dec 25, 2015
Messages
800
Location
Iowa
I don't remember the exact combo, but it seems like I had to go surprisingly fast to do it. It took me a few tries to get it.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
893
Location
Westminster, CO
Mine did this and would not reset. Replaced the module under center console and reset right away.

This problem came after replacing the steering wheel.. I did not disconnect the battery and think that was the issue.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2012
Messages
707
Location
Meridian Idaho
Mine did this and would not reset. Replaced the module under center console and reset right away.

This problem came after replacing the steering wheel.. I did not disconnect the battery and think that was the issue.
you mean ABS Deceleration Sensor needs to be replaced?
 
Joined
May 20, 2005
Messages
1,062
Location
Virginia Beach, VA
Any Toyota can probably reset this for a fee. Depends on how much it's worth to you.

I think the FSM or EWD had some finer details to the technique too. Can't remember.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2017
Messages
338
Location
Seattle
Similar to others, I had to try it for about 2 hours before it stuck and stayed off.
Mine was on after rebuilding my motor. Made extensions and ran it to ground our of solid copper wire. Some say that the wire type/ground will make a difference in it registering the sequence. One guy literally used a metal rod pounded into the ground because he couldn't get it to work with a ground bolt on his truck. I think i used a motor ground on the engine hoist hook or something. It will work unless your module is faulty. Royal PITA to get though.
 

LINUS

Waiting for the Great Pumpkin
 
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2003
Messages
4,771
Location
PNW - WA
Took me many tries. Be persistent and just keep going until it works. Here’s what it looks like on the cluster when you have a successful attempt...

Wow, never knew there was so much cluster ‘fireworks’ to it all - I was underhood following the FSM at the diagnostic port.

FWIW, it took me 3-5 tries to get it right.
But I’d also tripped mine by hitting my battery with the 24v setting on my bump box (forgot to switch after charging some heavy equipment).
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2012
Messages
707
Location
Meridian Idaho
Problem was in deen with AIRBAG computer that under center console I got used one from CruiserParts and all working now
 
Top Bottom