1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

aftermarket guages

Discussion in '60-Series Wagons' started by 65swb45, Aug 13, 2005.

  1. 65swb45

    65swb45 Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    21,727
    Likes Received:
    6,415
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Location:
    so cal, going 45
    I'd like to install a vacuum guage in my 60. I have one in the 40 and the 45 and I depend on them to keep the valves properly adjusted. The question is location.
    Right now the prime canditate is next to the fuse panel and dimmer switch, just to the left of the steering column. A little hard to see there, but the clearance doesn't seem to be an issue.

    Anyone else done this?

    Pics?
     
  2. GLTHFJ60

    GLTHFJ60 Rum Runnin' SILVER Star

    Messages:
    22,466
    Likes Received:
    6,235
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    If you installed a vacuum gauge, where do you put the sensor in the system, and is it a mechanical or electronic gauge?

    :beer:
     
  3. Mace

    Mace rock scientist.. Staff Member s-Moderator

    Messages:
    21,398
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Actually I am going to install a vacuum/Boost gauge in the 60.

    As of yet I have not even considered where to put it. But I was thinking that it would be well placed in the stock location for the Tach. Heck.. The stock tac only goes up to 4K anyway ;)
     
  4. calfj60

    calfj60

    Messages:
    1,939
    Media:
    15
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Location:
    A balanced city
    Hey Mark,

    I would just cut a hole above where the hand throttle goes.....worked good for my tranny temp gauge location....here is a pic since they are worth a thousand words :)
    seats.jpg
     
  5. CTiger

    CTiger

    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    isnt that where the 4High button is though?
     
  6. calfj60

    calfj60

    Messages:
    1,939
    Media:
    15
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Location:
    A balanced city
    Maybe in a 62 but it was just a blank plastic plug in my 60....
     
  7. Spook50

    Spook50 Get ready

    Messages:
    4,947
    Likes Received:
    726
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    That is correct. Great spot for a gauge too. Yet another reason for me to lose the vacuum actuated shifting on my tcase :D
     
  8. GLTHFJ60

    GLTHFJ60 Rum Runnin' SILVER Star

    Messages:
    22,466
    Likes Received:
    6,235
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    I didn't mean where to put it in the dash, although that is a great place to put any aftermarket gauges that one might have.

    I meant, what wires or hoses would be connected to where on the engine to provide the vacuum measurement? Sorry if it's a dumb question...

    :beer:
     
  9. calfj60

    calfj60

    Messages:
    1,939
    Media:
    15
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Location:
    A balanced city
    I would say try pulling the plastic plug out and see what is behind it....In my 87 it was just open space...Pulled the plug out, took it over to the drill press and using a hole saw cut the hole....Thought it was to easy.... :beer:
     
  10. Mace

    Mace rock scientist.. Staff Member s-Moderator

    Messages:
    21,398
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    not dumb at all.


    All you need is a line run from the manifold to the gauge itself. It is a fairly easy setup.
     
  11. GLTHFJ60

    GLTHFJ60 Rum Runnin' SILVER Star

    Messages:
    22,466
    Likes Received:
    6,235
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Ok, but where would be the optimum place to put the line into? Could one splice a vacuum line into an existing one and get the reading that way?

    :beer:
     
  12. Mace

    Mace rock scientist.. Staff Member s-Moderator

    Messages:
    21,398
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    There are multiple holes in the intake manifold.. use one of those.. Most of the vacuum lines do carb vacuum, not manifold vacuum...
     
  13. Godwin

    Godwin Resident Herpetologist SILVER Star

    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Location:
    Alabama
    I have a pair of Autometer Z-series 2" gauges mounted under the dash, one on either side of the shift lever. One is for oil pressure the other a vac gauge. It's not a bad spot and if adjusted properly can be easily seen, all I have to do is glance down and to the right.
     
  14. Gumby

    Gumby Supamod Staff Member s-Moderator

    Messages:
    12,057
    Likes Received:
    528
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Knee deep in hookers and gin
    I have no AC and a desperate need for a good oil pressure and temp guage. They are mounted in the center vent positions. Look very nice and pivot. the "eyeball" is exactly the perfect size for a 2" gauge.
     
  15. 65swb45

    65swb45 Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    21,727
    Likes Received:
    6,415
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Location:
    so cal, going 45
    Tim, your spot is exactly opposite of where I was talking about. I've got the same 'dead zone' on mine. Might use that too.

    As far as plumbing it in, that's easy. One the backside of the intake manifold is a large vacuum fitting for the brake booster. On the 60's there is a smaller tube that comes off the side of it for one of the vacuum switches. I am going to pull my guage vacuum from there.

    Don't try using the three way fitting on the front side of the carb on the manifold. That is a 'filter' and the vacuum readings on it are NOT positive readings of full manifold vacuum.

    :)
     
  16. Exiled

    Exiled

    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    On an FJ60 there is a nice spot on the A-pillar, right above the dash, between the A-pillar and the gauge cluster. I've seen up to three gauges mounted on there pretty cleanly, even on plain backets (i.e. without a guage pod).

    This is an intertesting topic, I'll eventually need to figure out a solution for mounting a boost gauge and a pyrommeter on mine.
     
  17. 65swb45

    65swb45 Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    21,727
    Likes Received:
    6,415
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Location:
    so cal, going 45
    I looked at that spot too. Much better visibility there, no doubt. Two problems. One, you would have exposed wiring and hoses, or have to build abox to house them. Two, that's already my best spot for my clip on sunglasses. :D
     
  18. GLTHFJ60

    GLTHFJ60 Rum Runnin' SILVER Star

    Messages:
    22,466
    Likes Received:
    6,235
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Cool. I think that this mod will make the list for my truck.

    I think that the best place would be the empty switch place on a 60. Sure the visability isn't too great, but how often would one look at the gauge? I would'nt think that the vacuum reading would be something that I would check all the time while going down the road. Besides, using that space eliminates the unused space on the dash.

    :beer:
     
  19. 65swb45

    65swb45 Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    21,727
    Likes Received:
    6,415
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Location:
    so cal, going 45
    Actually, the vacuum guage is one that you would prolly look at MORE than the gas or oil pressure. You see, manifold vacuum is ALSO a measure of fuel economy! You'd be surprised what going a little lighter on the pedal [higher vacuum] will yield in extra mileage. That is if you care. ;)
     
  20. Mace

    Mace rock scientist.. Staff Member s-Moderator

    Messages:
    21,398
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I had a buddy that used to use his vacuum gauge all the time. Going up hills he would put his foot into it then back off until the gauge started to come off zero. Supposedly it gave him back a lot of mileage.

    Personaly, I never let mine get in to the Neg section.. it is always on boost ;)


    Still got your axle sitting in the garage ;)