Advice on sequencing rims, tires & lift? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

JustJay

SILVER Star
Threads
I'm restoring a 72' 40 that I picked up last fall. I'm a rookie and have decided to strip it down, not quite body-off but darn close, for a quality paint job. So, I'm in the midst of having this thing in a pile of parts in the garage. (See photo of it from midway through the teardown)

What I have now -
Whoever I bought this vehicle from put new Toyota 17" wheels (I suspect from an FJ Cruiser) on it. Tires have no tread left, dry rotted, slow leaks and frankly not safe to drive.

What I want to end up with -
BFG 33x10.5x15 M/T (see photo of Arkansas Larry rig for inspiration)
3" OME lift

If you're still reading, here's where it gets tricky. I don't have the garage door height (yet) to fit the lifted rig so the lift might be next year or the following's project. So, in the meantime, I desperately need new tires (safety), but, I don't want to waste money on tires for my current setup. I'd gladly get the new rims and 33" tires but from what I've read, the 33s would cause potential rubbing problems without the lift.

Oh, and one last thing, wondering if the tailpipe on my rig is going to be in the way of larger wheels. Any suggestions for modifying that?

Anyone got experienced advise for me? Also, any leads on where to get wheel setups like Arkansas Larry sports in the picture below?
tempImageeqTXHp.jpg
tempImage0K5RKy.jpg
IMG_0764.PNG

Low overhead garage door owners unite!

Unfortunately I’m a few inches shorter than a typical 7’ door.

Hoping to improve garage situation by moving soon but who knows.

Am I correct in thinking I can’t change out rims and 33” tires without the lift?