Advice Needed (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I pulled the engine, tranny, and transfer out of a 72 fj40...I have a 2f long block waiting to be put back in, a 4 spd tranny....Should i take the time to mate the 3spd tranfercase to it or try to find something else? I want a bolt on replacement as I am a one banana mechanic....I am also minus the coil and ignition... should I spend the money on a electronic ignition or use the coil/ignition off of the F engine? I will already have to alter the drive shaft lengths as well since it hopefully will change from a 3spd to a 4 spd....thoughts appreciated!

don't bother with the 3 speed tcase.

use the coil/ignition from the F

if you have the stock 4 speed driveshafts just swap them over.

Or, have your front DS shortened to fit in the rear and have your rear ds lengthened to fit in the front.

Cheaper that way.

Also, you will need to swap out the outputs from the 3 speed tranny to the 4 speed tranny. They used different sized flanges.

I gotta disagree...

GO with the electronic ignition. Just get the ignitor and coil and distributor from an 78 or newer 40 or 60.

Set the timing and forget it for like 30,000 miles. Better spark, water proof, and NO MORE POINTS

I feel the electronic ignition is one of the best upgrades to do on a 40.

What are you planning on doing with it? If you are not doing just a hardcore trail rig, I would just use the 4 speed x-case.

Just my .02

Rezarf <><

Not a hard core trail rig but will see most of its time off of the pavement...dont have a 4spd transfer, but have a 4spd tranny and a 2f waiting to be mated together with some kind of tranfer....

Anyone one have an electronic ignition and coil... dist. and dizzy are mounted in the 2f, just need the ignition and coil....4spd transfer...

Also the f has a stainless header on it... should I swap it onto the de-smogged 2f... is this possible?