Advice for a Noob: How far should I go on a rear end rebuild? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am an 80 noob but not a noob to the FJ. Anyway, I bought a '94 (121k miles) and discovered the rear pinion seal was shot. Who knows how long it had been and it had leaked all of the grease it was going to. I spent some time on this site searching and learning and have a decision to make.

I figured it would be smart to replace the front pinion bearing and spacer while I was in there replacing the seal because I can get to it from the propeller side. I spoke with my mechanic and he recomends to do both the front and rear pinion bearings together, which makes sense to me too but doesn't that mean you have to pull the ring, pinion and differential case? Now I am out of my comfort zone so would take it to my mechanic for sure.

So, I then start thinking of the bearings on each side of the differential case and start to wonder if I should replace all of the bearings and seals related to the rear end. I am on a tight budget so this would be tough but not impossible for me to do. If I go this route, should I slap in an Aussie locker while I am at it? I don't plan on running a different gear ratio, at least for a long, long time.

Cost is a big factor for me but I don't want to redo work if I plan on adding the locker later (within a year or so) and I don't know what kind of damage may have occured running for a long time with hardly any grease in the diff.

Maybe I should just go cheap and replace just the pinion seal but I don't want to break on the trail in the middle of no where with my whole family either.

Is the rear end making any funny noises or acting strange?
If not just replace the pinion seal is my 2 cents