AC troubleshooting (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
This is my very first time messing with the AC so I need some second opinions. AC is not cooling like it should as the temp goes up. When connect up the gauges my static readings are 50 on the low side and 50 on the high side. However, when I run the AC low drops to ZERO and the high side goes up to 100. Which are both low. My assumption is that I have a freon leak somewhere and I suspect its the in the line that goes to the rear AC. I have added dye and have been unable to find any leak so far. However, from what I have read on MUD the rear AC line is covered in several parts so I need to inspect further to confirm my initial assumption. Do those readings indicate my initial thought or am I way off? Thanks

Sounds more like a restriction to me.

I have been trying to research on how to pinpoint restriction if that is indeed the case. I have seen some conflicting info. Is the best way for me to use a temperature gun and try to find drastic temperature differences indicating a blockage? Sorry if thats a dumb question, this it the very first time I have messed with the AC before.

Following with interest - mine isn't blowing cold either. I replaced both the rear lines (cost about $1000!) two years ago. The shop that recharged the system last time also added a green dye to the system. The only place I see them leaking from at a spot where lines connect to the condenser.

I have been trying to research on how to pinpoint restriction if that is indeed the case. I have seen some conflicting info. Is the best way for me to use a temperature gun and try to find drastic temperature differences indicating a blockage? Sorry if thats a dumb question, this it the very first time I have messed with the AC before.