A Rough New Rig (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Greetings everyone! I'm stoked to be joining the family! I'm totally new to off-roading, but I've got the bug. Last fall, I went on a dirt road camping trip across Idaho with an old friend (and his friends), and it turned out our definitions of "dirt road" were not aligned. I brought my 100% stock 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee and proceeded to expedite the Jeep's depreciation while trying to keep up with 5 Land Cruisers. Upon my return home to Arkansas, the search began for my own.

Now, with a kid in pre-school and a SO in school, I was pretty doubtful that I'd have the funding to even get an 80 series, let alone have any funds leftover to get it reliable and trail ready, but as luck would have it, I got everything I wanted in my new rig! It's probably one of the ROUGHEST rigs here, but it's perfect for me and what I want from it. Obviously for $5,500 I didn't get a trailer queen, but I'm excited for the work that has been done. It's a 1996 FZJ80 with 220k on the clock. It has a recently rebuild head (surfaced and valve job), new Toyota head gasket, new Toyota water pump, Lifetime Pesky Heater Hose, 7-pin mod, 2"-3" lift (spacers), Newer 35" tires (Kanati), OME Steering Damper, Slee Castor Correcting bushings, and a Detroit Locker in the rear!

For all the great things that made me want it however, there are the many, many, many rough things that kept anyone else from buying it! The rear windows and electric seats don't move, it's missing the passenger mirror, the snorkel is connected with duct tape, the climate control system does nothing and has been replaced with a universal heater, there's no AC, no oh-sh*t handles, no interior lights, the passenger knuckle needs rebuilding and there's a small oil leak that seems to be coming from the rear main seal. And that's just the list of things I would like to fix!