A novice tackles the head gasket thread (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
OK. Here we go. I'd rate myself at somewhere slightly above total novice mechanic. I've done things like headers on an LT1, waterpumps on an XJ, and a timing chain and guides on a 22RE. Most of those went well, albeit a lot slower than the average mechanic. So I've decided it's worth it for me to try to save $1500+ by attempting a head gasket repair myself.

I'll be posting pics of my progress and asking a lot of questions.

Background:
I bought the truck just about a year ago... I wish I'd known more things to look for, as I suspect this issue was there when I bought the truck... but I was more concerned with lockers and a cheap price. This past winter, I started seeing weird things and at one point my heat started blowing ice cold and I found this in the radiator:

LC_headgasket003_zpsc42a85e8.jpg

I immediately suspected the head gasket, but talked myself out of it, thinking it was a red/green coolant mix gone bad. I flushed it a few times and things seemed OK for a few months. However, I would frequently notice the sweet smell of coolant in my exhaust... but I was still in denial.

Finally, symptoms returned, I checked the rear heater hoses and discovered that they were already bypassed and my fate was sealed.

So, the magic journey begins. Fortunately for me, I have another vehicle to drive, so I'm not down. However, my schedule is very busy. I watch my two small boys (1 and 3) all day, and I work afternoons, leaving for work as soon as my wife gets home. She works most Saturdays as well, so my free time is very limited. Progress WILL be slower than most.

Step 1: