1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A/C added to non-A/C FJ60

Discussion in '60-Series Wagons' started by msummer, Aug 22, 2006.

  1. msummer

    msummer

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    My '84 FJ60 had a dealer installed hackjob A/C system. I have since tossed all that and converted to the OEM setup. In general, this is what I have added:
    - 3 groove crank pulley
    - new motor mount arm
    - radiator hose changes
    - rebuilt compressor
    - condensor/dryer/hoses
    - under dash goodies

    Today I took it to the A/C shop and had the system evacuated and filled with oil and R12. When the fan switch and A/C button are on, my idle up mechanism comes to life and the A/C button glows. Unfortunately, my compressor doesn't come on. The A/C shop jumpered from the compressor to the battery and the cold blew air.

    I've read through most (if not all) the A/C related threads on here and can't figure out why the clutch isn't coming on. I turned the little knob back and forth on the A/C amplifier board but no change. Give me some ideas guys.

    Matt
     
  2. pvidrummer

    pvidrummer

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Umm... Have you checked the a/c compressor relay???
     
  3. msummer

    msummer

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    My understanding was the A/C relay powers the whole system, including the idle up solenoid and button light. If that is right, then that can't be it. Am I wrong on this though?
     
  4. msummer

    msummer

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
  5. beaufort-fj60

    beaufort-fj60

    Messages:
    4,508
    Media:
    10
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    there is a small fsm for the a/c
     
  6. fourand20

    fourand20

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Location:
    Grand Forks ND
    there is an AC amplifier near the fan box underneith the glove box. if that is bad your compressor will not come on. do what i did. bypass that worthless crap and put a new switch somewhere on the dashboard and "hot wire" your AC compressor. all of the goodies still work when the compressor is on. ie...the idle up, fan ect.....
    hope this helps......BTW, i replaced my OME compressor, then flushed and refilled my sys with r134. works just as good on a hot day..
     
  7. msummer

    msummer

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    What does the pressure switch in the evaporator do? Is it for detecting too little pressure or too much? Just wondering what would happen if you hotwire the compressor and leave it on for a long drive.
     
  8. bobperu

    bobperu

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    If there is too little pressure in the system it won't send voltage to the compressor clutch. Mainly to protect your ac system. If there is too little pressure, oil will not be circulated and the compressor will not be properly lubricated. So, do not bypass the pressure switch. Make sure that the switch is operating properly. Also, if you want to save some money, skip using R-12, and use Freeze-12. Freeze-12 is a drop in replacement. I use it in my '82 FJ60.
     
data-matched-content-rows-num="2,1" data-matched-content-columns-num="1,4" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">