1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8274-50 + synthetic rope ???

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by sherwood, Mar 5, 2004.

  1. sherwood

    sherwood

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    OK... called Warn and talked to customer service.
    Duh...... Warn doesn't have an answer. How 'bout you folks ?

    Fabbed a nice mount for my brand new 8274-50 and mounted it on my CCOT HFS bumper. Ordered 3/8" (Amsteel Blue) synth rope from Rockstomper. Rope came with the terminal (for a bolt) end. Pulled all the wire cable off the drum and lo and behold, there is a big old (not threaded for a bolt) hole... approx 1/2". Normally the wire cable passes through this hole and is looped and fastened with a cable clamp.

    Called Rockstomper to see what they suggested. (I had specified that the rope was for the 8274-50). Got a recording.... Rockstomper is closed 'till Tuesday.

    Just wanted to hear your Ideas. I figger a big "figure 8" knot should take care of it since we are relying mainly on the first layer of wraps for friction. Or.. just use the cable clamp as originally configured for the wire cable.... may slip ?

    What say.... how have you attached yours ? Warn is clueless.... of course they would have preferred I bought their $600+ synth rope, I'm sure !

    Thanks,
    John Sherwood
    Charlotte, NC '79 FJ-40 TLCA Upstate Cruisers
     
  2. Landpimp

    Landpimp

    Messages:
    15,710
    Likes Received:
    1,726
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Location:
    Gig Harbor WA
    I can't see why a big ole knot won't work just fine. or you could run a bolt(with washers and nuts) thru the eye(that the rope came with) as long as bolt is too big to get out the hole you would be fine......I would think.

    or why not use a cable clamp? would think it would work OK.
     
  3. woody

    woody unhelpful spotter Staff Member Admin

    Messages:
    10,619
    Media:
    317
    Albums:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Location:
    Toquerville UT
    I have a knot in mine...been there since I installed the rope....zero issues with it. Not even sure it's a Boy Scout approved knot, but it doesn't slide.
     
  4. osteology

    osteology

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Yep - a knot works fine - I put a fender wahser over the rope also with smooth edges just to be safe before I tied the knot.
     
  5. Desertdave

    Desertdave

    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    I just used a bolt/nut with proper-sized washers to hold mine. With 125 ' of 3/8ths I've never gotten close to the last row of wraps.