'78 (Re)wiring Advice (Kwik Wire 14) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm attempting to sort out a few wiring issues - mainly no hazards, no high beams, etc. - on a '78 I bought a year ago from another member.

Anybody tackle Kwik-Wire install in a 40? Would love diagrams, tips, sympathy, empathy, basically whatever I can get.

The background:

PO had a new wiring harness and fuse box installed - appears to be the Kwik Wire 14 circuit harness, in the "basic" option (i.e. No base or cover for the fuse box, no kill switch, and no Maxi fuse)... It was clearly installed just enough to have the necessities like headlights, turn signals, brake lights, etc. functioning, but none of the optional extras like hazards or high beams, and some interesting quirks I can't quite figure out (like the light bulb on the wire from the battery to the alternator).

I have very little electrical experience, but love a good challenge and am fairly good following instructions and reading manuals and schematics. I'm trying to sort this out using a combination of the Kwik Wire instruction manual (http://kwikwire.com/content/kwik-wire-instructions.pdf) , the 1978 wiring diagram off Cooleman's site, the 75 chassis and body manual PDF from Trollhole, and a reprint 75-80 chassis and body manual I bought off Amazon.

The issues/questions:

First, what I assume is the most pressing issue - no fusible link or Maxi fuse appears to be installed. The Kwik-Wire instructions would have a Maxi fuse added at the starter solenoid. The Painless instructions seem to put it in the same place. The stock harness would have a fusible link between the battery and the ammeter. I haven't confirmed it (as I'm still not done sorting through the rats-nest that is the wiring behind the dash), but I suspect the ammeter is connected to anything right now. Suggestions?

Less pressing issues to sort: