'78 FJ40 Blinker Issue

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by phyberopty2k, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. phyberopty2k

    phyberopty2k

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Can any one help me out,

    my 78 FJ running completely stock, is not blinking when i flip the switch, running lights work, brake lights, headlights and they do flip over once, just not continuing to blink.

    CAN ANYONE HELP?
    :censor:
     
  2. BigSur

    BigSur

    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Location:
    Big D
    check your grounds....
     
  3. DSRTRDR

    DSRTRDR I can mangle anything ... SILVER Star

    Messages:
    14,686
    Media:
    42
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA and Fountain Hills, AZ
    how are your hazards ?

    flasher blown ?
     
  4. phyberopty2k

    phyberopty2k

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    if that doesn't work, cause i have, and im ready to completely e-do all of them, what else could it be?
     
  5. phyberopty2k

    phyberopty2k

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    hazards work fine... only the blinkers get stuck or jammed, however you want to put it, the lights gets brighter once, then stays on
     
  6. DSRTRDR

    DSRTRDR I can mangle anything ... SILVER Star

    Messages:
    14,686
    Media:
    42
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA and Fountain Hills, AZ
    got a wiring diagram ?

    do hazards and blinkers run to the same flasher ?
     
  7. DSRTRDR

    DSRTRDR I can mangle anything ... SILVER Star

    Messages:
    14,686
    Media:
    42
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA and Fountain Hills, AZ
    have you looked at the switch itself ?

    I don't know how it works in later models, but in early models, if the initial contact gets ever so slightly interrupted, they will not flash/blink
     
  8. phyberopty2k

    phyberopty2k

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    haven't checked the switch, and yeah, i have like 6 or 7 manual's that came when i bought the cruiser, i love it but am quite tired of getting tickets for unblinking blinkers


    and compliments on your rig, have you thought about the SOA lift?
     
  9. DSRTRDR

    DSRTRDR I can mangle anything ... SILVER Star

    Messages:
    14,686
    Media:
    42
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA and Fountain Hills, AZ
    PM answered

    and no, SOA is not in my future, the rig has a high enough center of gravity as it were :eek:

    new bushings and Bilsteins did wonders for smoothing out my ride :D and it wheels just fine as it sits now :steer:
     
  10. phyberopty2k

    phyberopty2k

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    I've got some heavy plans,

    SOA with 14'' travel bilsteins, a two inch SOR lift kit, 35'' BFG A/T's or Micky T's prototype Crawler M/T
     
  11. phyberopty2k

    phyberopty2k

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    forgot to mention swaping the axels as a dana 60 rear and dana 44 front, dual cases 5:19 gears and V-8
    convert not sure if im going to do 4-link or keep the leaf springs, but in either way, it will be a street legal modified and bonified rock cruiser.
     
  12. DSRTRDR

    DSRTRDR I can mangle anything ... SILVER Star

    Messages:
    14,686
    Media:
    42
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA and Fountain Hills, AZ
    why would you put axles under your truck that are weaker than the stock cruiser axles :confused:

    true story: my husband has Dana 60s under his Blazer; we take the cruiser axles apart for the first time (disk brake conversion) and he goes: "WHOA, those things are BEEFY" :eek: (he has had cruiser envy ever since :grinpimp:)

    don't believe all the hype you read on some forum :rolleyes: :flipoff2:

    and, by the way, where do you wheel ?
     
  13. phyberopty2k

    phyberopty2k

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    i would obviously beef up the dana's... but mostly adding them for the wider foot print, not a whole lot, but ever bit that i don't have to use spacers i need,

    i mostly wheel in local california, wine country creeks and river beds, very little mudding and anywhere i see a spot i can climb over something..
     
  14. calixto

    calixto

    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Leucadia, California
    I got a slightly similar problem in that mine jst started doing this same thing recently...but only when my head lights are on and am stopped at idle. If I rev the engine the blinker starts back up again. Obviously they need more power. I have had some luck in the past by cleaning up my fuse contacts a little with a light file. I did install some Silverstar Halogen headlights without putting in a new relay so I am thinking that is where I am running into a problem....but my blinker problem is pretty recent so who knows. Gonna double check that the fuse contact is still clean before I move onto installing a headlight relay. Will let you know.
     
  15. DSRTRDR

    DSRTRDR I can mangle anything ... SILVER Star

    Messages:
    14,686
    Media:
    42
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA and Fountain Hills, AZ
    wiggly contacts.....
     
  16. cafirefighter

    cafirefighter

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    pismo beach ,ca
    I have the same problem too...posted a thread last week without much of a response...let us all know what comes of it....somebody has got to have a solution for this.
     
  17. solomrus

    solomrus

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    nebraska
    if you have the old flasher unit that you can take apart, you will find two coils.

    there are a couple sets of points in there. i was able to fiddle with the points and got mine to work. it would blink once, then stay on. also, hazards were totally normal.

    it should be on bolted to the left side of the pedal box, up near the fuse block. two 10mm bolts, just loosen them, then sort of twist it out.

    if you need more detail, reply, and i'll see if i can help you with it.

    --r
     
  18. oldracerguy

    oldracerguy

    Messages:
    101
    Media:
    7
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    Hudsonville, MI
    I had the same thing on my 78. Take the front turnsignal housings apart and look at all the corrosion on the ground wire. Run a separate ground to your frame on each assembly, works perfect now.
     
  19. Vicm

    Vicm

    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Yes it sounds like they are not getting enough power, try cleaning the the haz switch contacts and the connection to the haz also along side the turn fuse.
    The flasher will flash slower or stop flashing if these contacts are not making good contact to provide good current through the circit. Headlight relays , I don't think it will solve the blinking problem.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.