75 series landcruiser cummins 6bt conversion (7 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi guys new to ih8mud today. So im looking to put a cummins 6bt in my landcruiser which is an 89 75 series with a 2h diesel with aftermarket turbo engine and i have a few questions. For starters is the gearbox and drivetrain strong enough and if not from which landcruiser should i use? Also i have a friend who makes conversion plates to go from 6bt to an 80 series gearbox is this box the same fitment as mine and if not can i run an 80 series gearbox and transfer box onto my 75 series axles without causing any dramas. Please forgive my ignorance im pretty new to the scene so im not scared to ask simple questions so i can learn so any help would be greatly apreciated

Surely there must be something more appropriate than one of them. You already have the strongest gearbox and diff from Toyota but they will not last if you use the 6BT torque.

A Toyota 15BT would be my preferred choice if I couldn't find/afford a 1HD T

Nah im pretty keen on a 6bt its something ive always wanted to do as ive got really syrong childhood memories of driving a tractor with that engine in it as a kid so its as much sentimental as it is practical really haha

No idea if anyone has done one in a 70 series, but if you search, there's threads here on installation into 80 series
Can't imagine there's a lot of room for one in the 70s engine bay.
They are a very large engine. Tall and long and heavy and noisy like a tractor

You have a H55f gearbox with a splitcase transfer.

The 80 series has a H150/H151 gearbox with a HF1A/HF2A transfer. These are stronger than what you have. They're also what the current V8 'Cruisers use. I certainly wouldn't use a 6BT with your current gearbox and transfer, I would with the later ones if you aren't going to wind s***loads of power into it.