73’ land cruiser drum to disc breaks conversion (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am new to all this. I just bought a 73 fj40 and with all original parts. I want to change out the drum breaks that don’t work very good and find a disc break kit. What is the best kit to get and will work with what I have?

Thanks. I’ll take a look at it. Is it a plug and play or is there more to it when installing?
My conversion was done 20+ years ago, so my memory is a little fuzzy. I don’t remember it being all that difficult or a lot of mods. For best results , mix and match fj60 rotors and 4Runner calipers, not sure on the specific years though.

There are several options available depending on the look and feel you're going for. You can choose to use Toyota only parts, GM conversion parts or aftermarket disc brake kits. I chose the aftermarket route for my '73 as I wasn't keeping things all stock having already converted to a Chevrolet V-8 engine years ago and being a hotrod guy. If that may be the route you're going check out the parts offered by TSM MFG. I went with Wilwood calipers front and rear.

There are several options available depending on the look and feel you're going for. You can choose to use Toyota only parts, GM conversion parts or aftermarket disc brake kits. I chose the aftermarket route for my '73 as I wasn't keeping things all stock having already converted to a Chevrolet V-8 engine years ago and being a hotrod guy. If that may be the route you're going check out the parts offered by TSM MFG. I went with Wilwood calipers front and rear.
Thanks. I will take a look at this as well. The others one I found was JT Outfitters. Looks like they are ok but needs a little modification to make them fit. I’ll go look at the TSM before I do anything. Thanks again.