682nd Post of ‘What does this HG tell you?’ (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
finally got the head pulled yesterday and wondering if you guys can tell me what you see. I’m not an expert AT ALL and just wondering what the heck I’m looking at. Have not pulled the gasket off yet and may not have the right pictures, let me know what else I need to post to help better diagnose what my issue may or may not have been! Thanks in advance for whatever knowledge you may impart upon me

4DE9E9A5-537D-4893-97D8-6281C308AE9E.jpeg

DDC9DB1E-AE63-4BB1-B8AE-1C50323640AD.jpeg

B826DA11-BAE7-4F83-B14F-E1C2CADE0C25.jpeg

33781E7C-F08F-4447-B413-9FD454920C6B.jpeg

8C2A2CC7-5011-4ED1-8EA7-E8F355707CB8.jpeg

What symptoms did you have? What problem are you trying to fix? I don't remember any previous posts.

What symptoms did you have? What problem are you trying to fix? I don't remember any previous posts.

There were none. I diagnosed (or maybe, misdiagnosed :doh:) a failing head gasket due to exhaust fumes in the rad (via chemical test), average operating temp rising, and loss of coolant. Loss of coolant could be something else, but no drip or tell tale signs anywhere. The reason i ultimately decided to do it right now is because the previous owner was kind enough to put the wrong spark plugs in (tapered) and cross threaded cylinder 2. When I went to pull them out to do a compression test and a leak down test to see how bad my gasket really was, all threads came with it. I could have tried to repair with the head on, but I wanted to do it the right way and not risk getting shavings in the cylinder. So that is what brings us to this point. Now I’m just trying to determine where my failure was, or if there really was a failure to begin with.