1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

62 drivetrain into a 40

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by Dan_J-spec_fj62, Dec 2, 2003.

  1. Dan_J-spec_fj62

    Dan_J-spec_fj62

    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Location:
    Okinawa, Japan
    Hey y'all


    I guess the subject tells all.... but i seem to have a fj62 donor truck at hand.... and was wonderin if anyone tried too stufff it all under a 40's body?? and i mean ALL 3fe on back ... tranny transfer... axles (ff with factory cable lockers) I have all the wires and computers... obviously need some gas a flow mods... but as far as space and wiggle room???

    thanks

    dan
     
  2. dd113

    dd113

    Messages:
    2,923
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    SHould work just fine. I would ditch the EFI and go carb but either way it should work. I would think cooling issues and very short RR driveline
     
  3. Dan_J-spec_fj62

    Dan_J-spec_fj62

    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Location:
    Okinawa, Japan
    yeah radiator is shot..... i was gonna go aluminum... and big.


    i won't post pics (too sad)... but some drunk **** used my 62 for a parking brake (i have no idea how fast he was going).....


    dan
     
  4. Man Jerk

    Man Jerk

    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Please don't say it was the Japanease spec FJ62 with which you username refers to :'( :'(

    I know someone (mrtlc4x4 on this board) who know's someone who did the motor. Not sure about tranny and t case. I might be seeing him tonight so I'll ask, otherwise mabye he will show up here.

    Sorry to hear about that
     
  5. mrtlc4x4

    mrtlc4x4

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    the 3fe from my fj62 is now in a fj40. he took the computer and some wiring. as for the tranny the auto/t-case lenght is awfully long for a 40.not saying it can't be done but the rear d-shaft would be reeeaallly short.do a search here or pirate and you will see plenty on putting 62 axles under a 40.
    I have recently got another 62 parts truck,and spring time i hope to install the efi in my 40. i definatly would prefer efi over a carb. :cheers:

    Tony
     
  6. cruzer

    cruzer

    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    I plan on useing FJ62 Axles under my 40 in a SOA configuration.

    YOur best bet is to use the 3FE with a Toyota 4 Speed Tranny which will bolt up to the 3FE. Then you have the same length drivetrain as a 40 with the EFI improvements for offroading.

    Stew
     
  7. Man Jerk

    Man Jerk

    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Why not try to find a 60 or 62 with a bad motor and swap everything over. then it's all pretty much bolt in.
     
  8. Dan_J-spec_fj62

    Dan_J-spec_fj62

    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Location:
    Okinawa, Japan
    I thought about that.... but i'm in japan now and comming back to the states here this month... now that i am not bringing the whole truck.... (see above) i figured i'll get my wife an 80 and i'll build me a project 40... (if i'm reeellllyyy lucky i'll get a troopie) i'll have the best of both worlds... 40 for mudd and wicked trails and 80 of mild to moderate family funn!!!


    at least that is the scheem and dream of it!!

    dan