510FJ80 Build/Repair Thread (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I guess its finally time to do this. I've been lurking here for a while, I've been driving a '92 FJ80 with now 263,XXX miles on the clock for about 10 months now. Just got it registered in my name last week, so now shes my baby and I want to do her right. I have very little experience with cars in general, yet am excited to launch into the journey with an open mind and a commitment to such a lovely vehicle. Since I want to learn and I'm not wealthy, I'd like to do most repairs etc etc myself, or at least try to learn whats going on before I bring in anyone else. I figure this truck is more than worth my time investment and whatever $$ i may throw at it. I don't have a name for her yet, however I love her in a way I've never loved any other car I've owned. I hope to keep her as long as feasible.

Here's a pic:

IMG_2081.jpg

Anyways I'll continue with my updates here as log for myself and hopefully to provide back to such a generous wealth of knowledge (mud). oh and I'm sure I'll need help o_O

So for a while I was dealing with some troublesome issues, though the truck still ran amazingly.
Hard to start and stay running without some added gas, poor acceleration and power, she would stall when coming to any stop unless i feathered the gas, and i had pretty much no reverse (she would buck and move a few feet, buck again and move a few feet, or stall if not enough gas pedal). After a while of looking around on mud and the internet, and having brought it to two shops for inspection, I was kinda at a loss and just drove with both feet for a while.

Eventually I found the source of my problem. The air hose #2 was cracked:
Cracked Air Hose 2.jpg