4.56 GEARS (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm considering putting in 4.56's and have a few questions:

1) I'd like to have lower gears and lockers front and rear. I'm assuming the best option would be to buy both front and rear pumpkins with 4.56 gearing and lockers ? I'm a gear novice, so maybe I'm not using the correct terminology ??
2) What is the best brand for a 97 FZJ80 and where would I get them ?

I read a thread talking about Slee's ability to procure toyota 4.56's from an offshore souce, but are Toyota gears the best ?

Thank you,

Matt

Someone said there is lower gears for the 80 t-case.
Don't know if it would be cheaper or beter.

Factory 4.56 locking diffs that come in some PZJ70/73/75 would fit in the 80 series. The front 4.56 locking diff off an LJ7_ or RJ7_ will fit the 80, but not the rear.

Dave

I dont know how "economical" it would be to run toyota gears other than your 4.11s. i do know that i just did 4.88s and got them really reasonably priced from kurt at www.cruiseroutfitters.com although if you are doing lockers at the same time it might not be a bad idea to get whole new thirds (with lockers already installed)form randys ring and pinion so you can just drop them in ............

[quote author=The Beast II link=board=2;threadid=8187;start=msg69214#msg69214 date=1070156471]
I'm considering putting in 4.56's and have a few questions:

1) I'd like to have lower gears and lockers front and rear. I'm assuming the best option would be to buy both front and rear pumpkins with 4.56 gearing and lockers ?
[/quote]

I am not aware of this from Toyota. I assume you mean diff's already loaded with ARB's and 4.56 gears. Yes, you can do that, but I am not aware of any of the shops like Randy's or Reider Racing currently offering it for the 80. . I might be wrong. Haven't check in the last month or so.