3FE stalling issues (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Calling all 3fe-heads!

I'm currently fighting an engine gremlin that I can't seem to get to the bottom of and I'm hoping someone on here has learned from past experience and can pass this wisdom on to me.

I'll start by saying I have a 91 80 series with a 3fe. Just over 200k on the odo and love the thing. She's a tank! Attached are a couple pics if you're interested :)

After running my engine hard (prolonged mountain driving [live in Colorado], hard offroading, mostly prolonged high revs/flooring it) and I come to a stop, the engine comes close to stalling and frequently stalls out if I don't get on the gas again. It putters out, all of the dash lights pop on and bam, dead. I can start the car normally right after it stalls out, but I'd rather figure out the problem than to just deal with it. I'm by no means a mechanic, but I try to do most of the work on my 80 that I can.

To me, I think this problem looks air/fuel ratio related, and that it would be something going on post MAF. I checked the all of the intake for any cracking or old worn out parts where air could maybe get in/out, replaced them, still having the issue. I checked all of the EGR lines in case it was related to that. They're old but none are cracked or leaking at all. I have no dash lights or other leads besides what I've listed. I chucked some BG44K through in to maybe clear up the injectors if that was causing the issue but no dice. A longshot but thought I may as well give it a try. I really don't want to have to pay for a mechanic to fix this and would love to tackle whatever this project entails myself.

Please feel free to ask for more info or clarity if you need, and please help me fellow cruiser-nuts!

IMG-3708.JPG

IMG-3711.JPG

IMG-3712.jpg

Last edited:
This sounds like a torn intake plenum after the AFM.