2h rebuild advice needed (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I got my dads old 60 about 10 years ago .i put a well used 2h and also a turbo on that an I have been running it for 8 Years now. It’s still a good runner but, I also have the original 2h sitting there. I wanna rebuild it to run my turbo tuff as possible! What can I do to it as in larger pistons? cam? Head work? What’s the best things to do with it to help it be capable of running more boost?
I’ll be running a intercooler on the new engine as well.
Any advice would be appreciated

Alfin Pistons with the reinforced steel ring land insert.
Turbocharged 2H's eat the OEM unreinforced piston ring lands.

2h’s don’t have oil squirters for the pistons like the 12ht’s do, but the bosses over the oil passages are there and can be drilled and tapped for 12ht squirters.

The squirters are in the block yes the 12ht head will fit the 2h block as they are the same.

So when my 2H gives uptake ghost, I can turn it into a 12HT? All I gotta do is...

Here's a reply I had written for another post...little more info

I had done a bunch of research on this topic over the past few years, and found a few things that might be of interest. Full disclosure: (1) I'm a mechanical engineer by trade, and (2) I did not have 3 2H engines in my possession, just the 2F that's in my rig - therefore I elected to go the 1HZ route, and have one on a pallet in my garage. With that said, here's what I learned...
  • it appears that the later 2H blocks have a boss that can be drilled and tapped for the piston oil squirters as they sit above an oil passage (there are claims that the 2H blocks with the bosses are the same as the 2HT block - YMMV). Further, it appears that the 12HT oil squirters are suitable for this mod