2F Idle Problem (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Folks,

This is my first time posting, but I've been lurking for a few years. I haven't had to post since there is so much good info on this site. This time I am stumped and I'm hoping that you guys can help me out. At best I am a shade tree mechanic and at worst a parts replacer so all suggestions are appreciated.

I have a '72 FJ40 with a rebuilt 2f engine (I think it is a 1984 with about 25,000 on the rebuild). It is de-smogged with a Trollhole Carb and HEI Dizzy distributor. Other than this some of the highlights are FJ60 power steering system, 5 Speed transmission, Old Man Emu 4 inch lift on 33's, power brakes with Toyota disks up front, 4 Core Radiator with all new hoses, and a few rust issues.

About 3 weeks ago it started began idling rough. Prior to this, the vehicle sat for about 5 months while I was on a trip. When I returned I put some fuel cleaner in the gas tank to get me by until I filled up again and did a tune-up (new plugs, oil change, etc). During this and the next tank of gas the engine ran better than it ever has (should of known this was a bad sign). Then it started idling rough. Now it idles as if the engine is missing. When I hook my timing light up I get a solid even pulse and then it pauses. The pause coincides with the rough idle and drop in vacuum pressure. Then the engine backfires out of the exhaust, recovers, and the sequence begins again.

I have a vacuum reading of 14-15, which I think is a little low. I do not have tach but I have the rpms set as low as I can and still keep the engine running. The vacuum gauge is hooked up to the hose coming from the intake manifold to the brake booster.

My compression numbers are:
1 2 3 4 5 6
Dry 145 135 125 140 140 145
Wet 150 145 135 150 140 155