250 amp (or higher) Battery Isolator Kit? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

r2m

Richard
Threads
Hey all,

I have a 230 amp aftermarket alternator on my 1998 LC and dual batteries. I've been looking for a high amperage battery isolator kit. The highest amperage kit I've seen has been only 150 amp. I'll fry something using that. I've seen much higher amperage isolators but not as a kit. I'm a mechanical engineer not an electrical engineer. I manage with electrical to do installs with directions, but that's about it.
Anybody have a kit or company they can recommend?

I am not looking for a "switch" where one manually switches between batteries. I'm looking an active switching isolator to keep my "house" battery (for accessories) charged while driving and to keep my "start" battery isolated while using accessories.

:DOr has anyone created their own kit purchasing a high amp isolator, wire, etc. and doing their own install?
If so, can you please provide a bill of materials and diagrams, photos or description of your install?

I need to finish this dual battery project I stated a couple years ago.
Yea, I've been kind of busy...

Last edited:
Can't believe no one has ever installed a 230 amp plus isolator kit on their rig!!
Anybody have any input?? :hmm:

500 amp. Use it to isolate my winch battery.

ML-ACRs - Blue Sea Systems

How did you wire that? More specifically, where/what did you connect that to your "house" wire? Did you add another fuse box? Do you have any pictures?
Also, I'm going to be getting some armor soon (read: steel bumpers, sliders and skid plates) which will have a winch also, so I'm very interested in wire configurations.