23 yo cruiser.. How soon will I need a rebuild? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I've searched extensively and ten years ago, an fzj with 245k miles like mine wasn't a worry.

What about in 2019? Is it a pending preventative measure at this point?

It runs very well but I need another ten years of reliability out of it.

At a quarter of a century old I'm starting to worry about seals, possible coolant corrosion internally etc. It doesn't leak or burn a drop of oil right now, but I can't have any surprises.

When the weather warms up I plan on doing a compression check and going through the cooling system.

But is it nearly time?

That's my concern. At the moment Im not sure whether to keep or sell. I'm a broke student and for the next couple years I don't NEED a vehicle but it makes my life a lot easier.

When I eventually get to med school I will need something rock solid, but I'll likely have the same kind of budget as I do now.

The way I see it, I can either put some money into it over the course of a couple years.. A slow resto basically.

Or I can sell it and save for a couple years while walking/biking or using a bus if I have to go far, and then after university buying something newer, maybe an 04ish 4runner or similar. But at that time, it could be exactly the same situation I'm in now with a vehicle of same relative age, except more complicated and expensive to baseline.

I have the cruiser listed for sale and I could use the funds in cash now to pay some bills and put the rest away.. But the thought of selling it makes me sick. I will eventually need something to get me where Im going with utmost reliability.

I need to make the most wise decision, and after a couple months I'm torn and don't know the best route to go. So here I am, asking all of you.