1993 3x Locked Budget Restoration - Ranch to Road Worthy - Advice Welcomed! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

I've been running NTK/NGK 24044 oxygen sensors in my '94 since 2017 with no problems. Appears to be discontinued, and I guess the Toyota O2 sensors for '93 - '94 are also discontinued? Some Toyota parts sites list them as available...

hmm. I’d double check with the 80 series NLA list to be sure. I’d be surprised, but maybe people gobbled them up. Good data on the NTK version.

And it’s official the Toyota O2 sensors are discontinued (in the 80 series NLA thread 2019). They are probably all gone by now, but it’s about how hard you want to hunt.

I read the same threads and pulled the trigger on the Toyota ones. I just didn’t want to f*** around with parts that didn’t play well with the ECU. Nobody has time for that. That being said there are still lots of folks using other O2 sensors with success. IIRC Denso ones work ok, but I would encourage you to do your homework before you shell out the cash.

Everyone is quick to say “replace your O2 sensors” around here. It seems like many times it’s justified (codes etc.) However what’s hard to untangle is how often the old o2 sensors were of poor quality, or if the replacement was part of a “throw new parts at the rig” strategy of repair. While this can make sense for our rigs that have old parts, it can get expensive very fast and often not solve the original problem.

Don’t let me dissuade you from replacing the O2 sensors, but in my own personal LC baselining/ repairing journey I found that having a good plan, and good reasons for parts was also an important factor.