1992- no click, no start + found a broken belt in the engine (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I just bought this car yesterday. When we were buying it, it was clicking but not cranking, so the seller tried jumping it, but it it still didn't do anything. After almost 5-10 minutes to messing with the starter, he was able to get it started. I bought the car, and drove it about 40 miles home with no issue.

Today, I went to see if it would start, and it is now not clicking or cranking. Additionally, I found a broken belt hanging off the bottom of the engine (picture attached). I think it might be the fan belt, would like confirmation. I am not sure where I should begin, as the threads I've read all recommend different things. I am a complete noob when it comes to mechanical repair but I am willing to work on it myself.

Thank you guys in advance, I am sorry in advance if this is a simple question.

IMG_20200902_123312 (1).jpg

Last edited:
Sounds like it's an alternator belt which could explain the dead battery.
Replace all the belts and a new battery. Then confirm the alternator is charging by measuring the voltage at the battery when the engine is running. This ought to get you in generally the right direction.

Also find yourself a copy of the field service manual. If you are working on this thing, you're going to need it.

Sounds like it's an alternator belt which could explain the dead battery.
Replace all the belts and a new battery. Then confirm the alternator is charging by measuring the voltage at the battery when the engine is running. This ought to get you in generally the right direction.

Also find yourself a copy of the field service manual. If you are working on this thing, you're going to need it.