1989 fj62 hasn't been started in 2yrs - need ADVICE!! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Calling all fj60 and fj62 WIZARDS!! For some advice.

I'm purchasing a 1989 fj62 that has not been started in the last 2 yrs. I have experience working on old broncos and cj's, but I'm not a pro, so if any of you read this post and could leave me some feedback, it would be greatly appreciated!!

What I was told about the cruiser:
Current owner has had it for ~18 years -- claims he stopped driving it 2yrs ago, after noticing small oil leak at the RMS. Claims the cruiser has not been driven since.
Owner claims 90% of maintenance and replacement parts over the years are OEM parts. -- owner worked for Toyota for many years.
Claims motor was running perfectly until the day he decided not to drive it again.
Hasn't run it since.

What I know:
300k miles on original motor
AT with EFI
Frame, underbody and exterior are in pretty damn good condition.
Nearly zero rust on car, not even on the tailgate, rockers, door posts, fenders, etc.
Zero rust on frame
Due to the dry heat where the cruiser has lived, and the 50+ photos he sent me, this fj appears to have been naturally preserved.

My plan once it's transported and arrives:
  • Oil & filter change - obviously!!
  • Flush trans fluid
  • Install a new battery
  • Flush the radiator & replace coolants
  • Replace the brake fluid
  • Add new power steering fluid
  • Flush old gas and replace w/ new
  • Inspect and rebuild fuel pump if necessary
  • Inspect fan belt and replace if necessary
  • Wait and check for leaks
Is there anything else you guys would recommend? Like remotely hiring a mechanic to go and try to verify he engine can turn at least, and/or ensure the pistons aren’t seized in the cylinders, or possible valve issues?

Thanks in advance and sorry for the crazy long post!!