1986 FJ60 - What's it Worth - Where to Start - Newbie (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all. New to the forum but not to Toyota Land Cruisers. I am new to the FJ60 though.

I had listed locally a 1997 Lexus LX450 I had shipped to Ohio from California and was approached about a trade for a 1986 FJ60, also from California. He was going to throw in a little cash but IMHO it wasn't enough.

Anyway, so while trying to get rid of an FJZ80, I ended up buying the FJ60 because I liked the looks of it and once I was in it, fell in love.

So, I ended up with a 1986 Toyota Land Cruiser FJ60 with 220,000 miles that is in overall, great condition. The dash is cracked up and paint sun damaged but outside of that, it's absolutely rust free. It's a 4 speed manual transmission with an Old Man Emu suspension kit. Has the larger tires and sits up quite nicely.

I've included some pictures of the vehicle and was interested on where to start and if I should have it painted or leave it original? There's no major dents or dings, no surface rust, no body damage or previous accidents.

I'm currently going through the entire thing and checking over the front end, greasing everything, changing all fluids and just cleaning it up and getting it road ready. This week I'm going to spray it with Fluid Film because the stuff works and living in Ohio, I want to keep it as rust free as possible.

However, I'm a bit curious what a car like this would be worth out here in the Northeast. What are buyers paying for this vehicle AS/IS? I'm asking because I'm not sure I'm going to keep it. It's another project and I'm not sure I'm ready to start dumping money into it. Just curious. I have to sell one of these cars because I have too many. Either selling the LX450 (which is mint) or the FJ60 because I have too many cars and not enough room for them.

Opinions, advise?
IMG_0416.jpg
IMG_0417.jpg
IMG_0418.jpg