1980 Canadian BJ42 Project (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello all,

A quick introduction and thread kickoff; I'm a mechanical engineer here just outside of Toronto, and I managed to find a project BJ42 for $7000 CAD. Good news is that the previous owner did an entire teardown and hot-dip galvanized the whole frame, and then painted it. Suspension looks clean with a bunch of new parts, and some of you will cringe; but it does have a fibreglass tub. I actually don't mind this; I can't be bothered to fight rust for the rest of my life.

Bad news is that it is literally in boxes. Everything is disassembled. The doors have the usual rust that I have to repair or replace.

So I've lurked here for a bit, and I see that the factory service manual is the go-to for how to assemble this thing. Does anyone have a recent source for this? Is there a good source for hoses, gaskets etc?

It has the 3B engine; any advise for maintenance items before I try to fire it up? I'm used to working with gasoline vehicles; although I've owned a few diesels over the years, they haven't required any maintenance other than oil changes. Should I even attempt to pop out the injectors to get ATF in the cylinders? Does the fuel pump fail? should I just rebuild anything?

Little bit of background on me: I've owned 16 cars in the last 13 years. The longest I've had is a 1971 Datsun 240z that I put an Infiniti VH45DE (V8) in it, with a 300ZX turbo manual transmission. I've worked for two electric vehicle companies, the most recent was Rivian where I was the Senior Development Engineer where I built the two prototypes for Long Way Up, and then I accompanied them on the trip as technical support.

Anyhow, pics soon to follow

Hey simmybinker,