1 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

I’d be very concerned about a Mazda pickup 5 speed in a 40. I’d worry that it’ll blow up and leave you stranded and having to start over again.

Last edited:
I’m by no means a Mazda expert, but for V8 swaps they seem to use TH350 or 700r4. If your BMW engine will have enough grunt to move a 4500 lb 40, the transmission will likely be a weak point. Mazda pickups are 3000ish pounds compared to many of our rigs that are nearing 5000 lbs.

That said, depending on your use, it may be fine. Mazda pickups are very similar to Ford Rangers which aren’t all that different from Ford Exploders. There’s a good reason Explorers are called Exploders by wheelers and wreckers alike… and it’s not because they are bulletproof.

Not that you’re asking, but my .02 would be you’d be better off adapting to a Fj40 4 speed, running 3.70 gears &/or 33s to keep rpm’s lower if needed.

I’d suggest an adapter plate from:

Or similar. Since I don’t know what model engine your I6 is.

Then a Conversion bel housing Chevy to Toyota transmission. If you already have a standard then you’ll be set… if not AA and other companies sell them.

The Toyota transmission can take a beating from a healthy V8… the I6 won’t be able to hurt it.

Last edited:
I am still sticking with the 5 speed Mazda. I want it to be more of a daily driver. Plus the 4 speed that was originally in it just didn't suit what I wanted. It's not meant to be a super amazing trail truck. It's meant to be a daily and to go on some trails on the weekend. The engine is a 1996 BMW 2.5 liter inline 6 diesel. Not sure what the model number is. We already have the Chevy bell housing adapter to the Toyota 4 speed. I'm never was worried about the 4 speed taking a beating from the i6.
Hello fellow youngster. Pics please!