1975 FJ40 - Turn Signals (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I know this subject has been talked about millions of times :deadhorse: and I've been reading, researching, and testing all the theories I've found on here o_O so forgive the redundancy here....but I have been fighting this aggravating s*** for over 6 months now and I'm almost ready to set this bitch on fire and roll it down a hill!!!

WHAT I'VE DONE:
- the OEM tail lights were trashed so I had to replace them.
- I used some LED tail/brake lights from Etrailer to replace them
- Replaced the switch on the column with a new one from Cruiserparts.net thinking that was the problem
- Then I realized the LED lights would mess up the original flasher so I bought installed the one from CCOT
- I've checked and replaced all the fuses

THE PROBLEM:
- Turn signals WILL NOT WORK
- Front Hazard flashers will flash.....kinda fast
- Headlights work....dimmer switch on new turn signal switch works too
- Brake lights work
- Parking lights work

THE OTHER PART OF THIS CLUSTERF*CK:
- The P.O.......bastard :mad::bang:.....cut in wiring, bypassed all kinds of s***, and was obviously completely opposed to using a butt connector!!!
- I don't know if this has anything to do with this but the Wipers DO NOT WORK either. I've checked the switch, plugs, and everything seems to be OK

Here's some pics of what I have going on here

Turn Signal.jpg

Turn Signal 3.jpg

Turn Signal 2.jpg

Turn Signal 4.jpg

There are several schematics of the turn signal wiring on this forum. Search for them. Unfortunately, you're going to have 'grok' the turn signal. The hazard switch is involved. I don't know if in your year the brakes are involved or not. The fact that the wipers aren't working doesn't sound related, unless you've blown a fusible link. We need more data. Find the schematic and see if you've got +12 to the turn signal harness.