1970 FJ40 top repair advice sought? (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
HI,

My top was damaged years ago. Both the steel gutter and fiberglass are damaged. It was much worse but I can not do much better with the fiberglass top attached to the gutter. If I separate them is think I can make a perfect looking repair on the fiberglass and the gutter. What are the dangers of damage from disassembly? There are a gillion rivets to remove, who has new rivets and a rivets tool? The a rubber gasket between the fiberglass and the gutter? Chances of reuse?

Scot

top.JPG

I'm doing the same thing right now but dont have any comments because i have never done this before. So I'm in the same spot you are and have the same questions.
I did drill out ALL of the rivits and there was no gasket so I'm looking at soom kind of replacement. I will be watching!!!

Same here- will be embarking on this shortly. I think with damage there's not much else to do than take the gutter off? You may find rust in there that needs replair as well.
I've seen other posts where folks get the rivets from Cool Cruisers - looks like they also have gutters if yours is beyond repair.
Someone can correct me on this but I didn't think there was a gasket between the gutter and the fiberglass. I do see folks using epoxy or some other sealant when they put them back on. I may do that as well; but a little scared of the permanency. If I get something wrong I'm sure taking it off would be near impossible without damage. But again I have not done this before.

How far are you willing to go? I know it may be an annoyance to look at but if that’s it, I’d leave it as is.